If you have been using this social network for a long time, you may at some point decide to delete your Snapchat account, either because you no longer use the functions, for personal reasons, or because you prefer other applications.
You can delete accounts from the web or from the official application. If you decide to delete a Snapchat account, you will start a deactivation process that will last 30 days, after which you can reactivate it by entering your access data. The removal process is carried out in different ways depending on your device.
Delete Snapchat account from a web browser
The process of deleting a Snapchat account from a web browser (Chrome, Safari, Opera, Firefox, etc) is quick and easy. Here are the steps to delete your account from a browser:
- Go to https://accounts.snapchat.com/accounts/delete_account.
- Sign in to Snapchat – You will need to enter your username or email and your password. Press the yellow button « Login «.
- Oh no! are you leaving us? is the message you will see, Snapchat is sad for your intention to delete your account and leave the social network, but it doesn’t matter! If you have decided, enter your username or email and password. Click on ” Continue “.
- Deactivated account: your account will be deactivated for 30 days, after which it will be permanently deleted.
- Clever! your account is scheduled to be deleted soon, but if you want to go back and activate it, you can log in before the 30 day expiration and your account will be reactivated.
Remember that you have 30 days to decide if you want to recover it again or if you prefer it to be completely deleted. You just have to log in and the account will be activated again.
Delete Snapchat Account from Android/iOS App
The process of deleting a Snapchat account is quite simple, you just have to have the application installed. Here are the steps to delete your account:
- Open the Snapchat app from the mobile phone.
- Swipe down to see the Snapchat interface (remember that Snapchat uses finger gestures a lot).
- Click on the gear icon that you will see in the upper right side. You will access the “Settings” menu.
- Locate the “ Help ” section and click on “ Help Center ”.
- Click on “ My account and security ”.
- Choose the option “ Delete my account ”.
- Click on the words portal of accounts that you will locate because they are colored in blue.
- Enter the username or email, password and press ” Continue “.
- Clever! your account will be deleted within 30 days.
The account will remain in deactivation mode for 30 days. After this time, it will be permanently deleted unless you decide to access it to reactivate it during this period. To reactivate it, you just have to log in with your access data.
Uninstall Snapchat App on Android
If after deleting your Snapchat account you want to remove the application from your Android device, you must follow this process:
- Go to the Play Store app store.
- Click on the icon with horizontal bars that you will find on the upper right side.
- Click on « My applications and games » (My apps and games, in English).
- You will find a list with all the applications you have on your device. Locate Snapchat.
- Click on « Uninstall » (Uninstall, in English) to remove it from the list.
- Clever! no trace of Snapchat will be left on your device.
Uninstall Snapchat app on iOS
If you have deleted your Snapchat account and want to also remove the application from your iOS device, this is the process:
- Locate the Snapchat icon on your device and long press on it. When the icon begins to move, you will see an X symbol appear in the upper left corner of the same icon.
- Click on the X and the “Delete” option will appear. Select this option and confirm the deletion.
- Clever! the Snapchat app will have been removed successfully.
Can Snaps be saved before account deletion?
Although from Snapchat they say that everything that is shared is not saved anywhere, for a few years now, thanks to the Memories function, all snaps and stories are saved in the app, but it is also possible to save them in your own gallery. Smartphone or iPhone :
- Enter your Snapchat profile t and click on the cogwheel to go to Settings.
- Then go to “Save to” > “Memories”.
- Choose between “Memories and reel” or “Only reel”. In this way the files will be backed up on your mobile.
What does Snapchat do with my data after deleting the account?
Once the 30 days have passed, all the history of your account is deleted ; Snaps, friends, locations, chats and everything you have uploaded to the platform from that account, although various data is still saved, such as:
- Purchases made in the application.
- Information that you have chosen by third parties, such as advertisers.
- Any detail that speaks about you in the lists of other users.
Said data is stored by Snapchat and is not disclosed unless required by law, although it may be transferred to affiliated companies for advertising purposes.
Reasons to delete a Snapchat account
There are many reasons why you may make a decision to delete Snapchat, we have tried to search for information and users who have deleted their account have shared the following:
- They have not understood how the application is used
- They haven’t made a lot of contacts or aren’t having much fun
- They do not use all the functions due to lack of free time
- Excessive consumption of mobile data (for videos and multimedia material)
- Little space on the mobile phone but they would use the ephemeral app again!
Now you know the different ways to cancel your Snapchat account on any of the devices you use regularly. If after a while you decide to return to the ghost’s social network, you can create an account on Snapchat again. To do this you just have to follow our practical guide.